James Barrett Brown Resident Research Day

21st Annual
June 2, 2017

2017 James Barrett Brown (JBB) Visiting Professor
Alex Kane, MD
Professor and Vice Chairman, Department of Plastic Surgery
Crystal Charity Ball Distinguished Chair in Plastic Surgery
Director, Pediatric Plastic and Craniofacial Surgery
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Alex Kane with residents

Dr. Alex Kane (seated third from left) poses with division residents and fellows. For Grand Rounds, he presented on the “History, Value and Clinical Decision-Making in the Treatment of Non-Syndromic Craniosynostosis.”

Alex Kane and Gwen Hoben

Dr. Alex Kane presents the first of two resident research awards to Gwen Hoben, MD, PhD, for her research on “Disparities in Senescence and Protein Expression in Nerve Autografts and Injured Nerve.”

Alex Kane and Rajiv Parikh

Dr. Alex Kane presents the second of two resident research awards to Raj Parikh, MD, for his research on “Disparities in Postmastectomy Breast Reconstruction Utilization Rates: Understanding a Health Care Inequity in the United States.”

Alex Kane with faculty

Here, Dr. Kane is seated with faculty from the Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery.

The 2018 James Barrett Brown Visiting Professor will be Dr. James C. Grotting, clinical professor of plastic surgery at the University of Alabama - Birmingham and the University of Wisconsin - Madison.