Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Recognition

Andriole and Mackinnon Receive 2020 Distinguished Faculty Awards

Two Department of Surgery faculty members were recognized in the 2020 Washington University School of Medicine Distinguished Faculty Awards. Please join us in congratulating Gerald L. Andriole, MD, from the Division of Urologic Surgery, and Susan E. Mackinnon, MD, from the Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, on their awards.

“The dedicated and talented individuals we honor here have made significant and lasting contributions to the School of Medicine’s tradition of excellence in patient care, education, research and community service,” says School of Medicine Dean and Executive Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs David H. Perlmutter. “In so doing, they have improved the lives of countless individuals—patients, families, colleagues and trainees—and enriched our academic community and beyond in immeasurable ways.”

Gerald L. Andriole, MD

Distinguished Clinician Award

Andriole, the Robert K. Royce Distinguished Professor of Urologic Surgery, is an internationally known expert on prostate cancer whose innovations in screening and clinical care have improved the lives of countless patients. Andriole combines excellence in research and patient care. He is a highly skilled surgeon whose bedside manner puts patients at ease. Andriole’s honors include an Outstanding Achievement Award from the National Cancer Institute’s Urologic Oncology Branch, a Distinguished Alumnus Award from Thomas Jefferson University, and the Manley Teaching Award from Washington University.

Susan E. Mackinnon, MD

Distinguished Educator Award

Mackinnon, the Minot Packer Fryer Professor of Surgery, is recognized for her dedication to surgical education and commitment to mentoring surgical trainees, postdoctoral students, residents and fellows. Mackinnon has helped hundreds of mentees follow their passions, while serving as division chief, becoming a world-renowned hand surgeon and conducting groundbreaking research on nerve alllotransplantation and nerve transfer. From the American Association of Plastic Surgeons, she received the Clinician of the Year Award and Research Achievement Award for Basic Science in 2012, and the Distinguished Fellow Award in 2016.