News Stories Our Faculty Recognition

Smelser Receives Young Urologist of the Year Award

This March, the American Urological Association (AUA) released their list of Young Urologists of the Year Award recipients for 2024.

Woodson Smelser, MD, an assistant professor of surgery in the Division of Urologic Surgery, received a 2024 Young Urologist of the Year award from the American Urological Association (AUA).

Smelser, who joined the division in 2022, specializes in urologic oncology and performs open, laparoscopic and endoscopic urologic procedures. He commonly treats prostate, kidney, bladder, testis and adrenal cancers, elevated PSA, and hematuria.

“Dr. Smelser is a talented urologic surgeon and valued member of our division,” says Michael Johnson, MD, professor of surgery and interim chief of the Division of Urologic Surgery. “This award is a sign of Dr. Smelser’s commitment to improving urologic care for patients with even the most complex of conditions.”

Smelser has contributed to research in treating several forms of urologic cancers. In 2023 he published an article that discusses findings of a study that implemented virotherapy in a murine model. The therapy aimed to preserve the bladder while treating cancer using a clinically controlled strain of reovirus.

“I am humbled by the committee’s decision to name me among a group of peers who drive innovation in our field,” says Smelser. “I thank my colleagues and our multidisciplinary partners who enable us to provide world-class urologic cancer care at Washington University. I also want to acknowledge all of the hidden figures — the OR nurses, the schedulers, the residents and fellows, and our clinical staff among many others who improve the health of our community through their tireless efforts.”

Before joining Washington University, Smelser earned his medical degree from University of Missouri School of Medicine in Columbia, MO. He completed urology residency at University of Kansas Health System in Kansas City, KS, and a urologic oncology fellowship at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, TN.

The Young Urologist of the Year award was established by the 2012-2013 Young Urologists Committee and recognizes early-career members of the AUA for their efforts and dedication to continuing to promote theory and practice and continuing to develop young colleagues in the field. The award is presented to urologists who have been in practice for fewer than ten years.